It has been awhile!

Wow! My last blog post was in July, just before my third brain surgery. Yup! Three! It has been quite a year. Not a bad year, per se, but definitely a challenging one! After that last surgery I ended up back in the hospital for an undetermined stomach pain. Many doctors ran many tests and it finally seemed to clear up on its’ own and I was discharged. Radiation lasted six weeks, thirty sessions in all and I did quite well with it, managing to keep running and practicing yoga through it. And, of course, walking my dogs. Three days after my last treatment I had a bad fall and broke my hand and split my forehead open. I was quite hysterical and bled rather spectacularly  until we determined that there was no damage to the work my neurosurgeon had done.  Happily my hand did not require surgery, only a heavy duty splint. I am still able to walk my dogs.

As, I said 2014 has been a challenging year. But so many good things happened, little miracles that I really need to document in a book or a separate blog! I am so grateful for many things, not the least of which, that throughout my whole “adventure” my dogs were walked daily. Many people came together to help, hubby, friends and neighbors. I was happy and relieved that they were still getting what they needed for their well being. Sometimes, I would be lying on the sofa and they would be heading out the door without me, but it made my heart smile to watch them happily go. Slowly I would be able to join them and the friend or neighbor would walk me along with the dogs! What joy it was to get my strength back enough to walk them on my own! That was certainly a celebration.

My recovery would have suffered if I knew that they were not getting what they needed. I really do believe that all dogs need a daily walk and am truly grateful for everyone who helped us these past few months.

I wish everyone of you a Happy Healthy New Year with much love from Dawn, Dylan and Casey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It has been awhile!

  1. Bonnie says:

    A lovely, uplifting message, Dawn! Yes, a book is indeed warranted, or at least a “special edition” blog. Take care… we look forward to the next installment! Love, Bonnie… and Jerry too!

  2. Adele Vessey says:

    So glad for your update and good report. Your positive spirit is an example to all of us. Wishing you a wonderful 2015, Adele, Ottie, Roxie, Tyga, Lizzie, Carmen, and Shani

Leave a comment